Project 333

I have a goal of using the project 333 guidelines starting this October. Check out the website for the full details, but the general idea is to  use 33 items for your wardrobe for 3 months. Undergarments, pajamas, and exercise clothes aren’t included in the count, but no using them outside their dedicated categories. If you want to use them as regular wear as well, then they count in the 33. This also includes accessories, such as belts, ties, hats, etc.

When I told my girlfriend about my idea, her response was “Do you even own that many?” After thinking for a minute, I had no idea if I did. So, the next step was to count how much clothing I actually have. When I added it all up using the above system, it came out to 60 items:

  • 2 formal slacks
  • 4 formal shirts
  • 4 jackets
  • 2 pants
  • 2 shorts
  • 14 t-shirts
  • 12 long sleeve shirts
  • 7 ties
  • 1 hat
  • 4 belts
  • 6 pair of shoes
  • 2 pair dance shoes

I was a bit surprised when I finished the list, because I have a lot of tops! It baffled me how I had so many shirts of various styles, yet had gotten such a comparatively strong grip on my pants collection. My task over the next couple of days will be to decide what I want to plan on having in my 33 from 1 October to 31 December. I’m pretty sure one thing it won’t include is quite as high a ratio of shirts.

The goal of this exercise is to slim down how much time I spend each day considering my clothing; the choices of it, the organization of it, and so forth. It’s easier to keep 33 items organized than an entire wardrobe. The benefit of using the project 333 approach to this is not having to promise to get rid of anything permanently. You’re only signing up to pack it away for a 3 month span, after which it’s all back.

I will continue to update on this as I go through the exercise. Considering taking part in some form of this yourself? Let me know! We can share in our experiences and what we think of project 333.

Leave a Reply

