Kindness Towards Others

   In Romans 7:18-25, Paul speaks of the evil that is of the body:

   For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot do it. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I that do it, but sin that dwells within me.

   So I find it to be a law that when I want to do what is good, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God in my inmost self, but I see in my members another law at war with the law of my mind, making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

   He focuses on sin, yet also touches on the inner self; the part of our selves most closely linked with God. This is the source within ourselves of the good we do in our lives. We can choose to feed either the sinful side or the good side. It is up to us every day how we want to chose to direct our lives. It is our decision and no one else’s. In our active decisions as well as our habitual choices, we choose the direction of our day. We build our own momentum.

   Christ is always waiting for us to side with Him. He is always happy to supply strength to our inner selves, no matter how disconnected we may have become from that part of us, of Him. Regardless how much momentum we may have built up in a certain direction, we can always choose to change. He is overjoyed every time we make the choice to listen to our inner self, and is ready to help us push its momentum onward.

   A change in direction can commonly require a catalyst; something that consciously opens a door for us to walk through. This can be a major event or something very small. I know I have had days where my catalyst to push that day in a positive bent has been as minor as someone at work asking a question of me in a particularly polite and respectful manner. A single sentence from a co-worker was all it took to give me the opportunity I needed to turn it in to a good day for myself. I also try to remember those days in my mind, as they remind me how large of an impact a single person can have on someone else’s day. If a small act of kindness could provide me with a whole day of positivity, then I should strive to offer the same open door to others.

One thought on “Kindness Towards Others

  1. I know that this is extremely old, but I stumbled upon it while reading some of your other works. The closing of “If a small act of kindness could provide me with a whole day of positivity, then I should strive to offer the same open door to others” speaks to me. This is how I handle some tough and dark times for myself. When I am in a bad mood or having a rough day, many of times I get a strange high from bringing cheer to someone else’s day. It could be something as simple as seeing someone who seems to be having an equally bad day, stopping and saying ‘Hello.’

    In an online community that I am extremely active, instead of trolling or tearing people down, I have built a following of friends and like-minded individuals who are getting results from positivity and bringing others up. For me, even the smallest gesture to make someone else’s day helps me smile and fix my glum mood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

