The outdoors is your living room

IMG_2412

     The time for outdoor activities has finally arrived; giving us the opportunity to partake in our favorite summer past times! This topic is a perfect example of why I live a minimalist lifestyle. As we have a small home, we don’t spend much time cleaning, organizing, or up keep. Without this laundry list of chores, free evenings and weekends are a regular occurrence. With this free time, one of my favorite endeavors is spending time outside. I adore walks through nature preserves and visits at our local parks with my partner. Recently, we took a shared day off to make ourselves a picnic lunch and enjoy it in the shade of the trees at the local nature preserve, which was a wonderful day and helped us both rejuvenate and prepare us for several productive days working on our own projects.

     The outdoors can provide a plethora of opportunities for time with friends and family. Many of these possibilities are ones which cost next to nothing and have the chance to be far more cathartic than we commonly give them credit for. For instance, the picnic we recently took helped break me out of a foul mood I had been stuck in for an entire work week. Usually, I spend one day of my weekend recuperating from work before truly getting to my own projects at full effectiveness. This week, I was able to get much more out of my Saturday afternoon and evening than usual because the lunch picnic was all the recuperation I needed from a particularly stressful work week.

     The benefits I gain out of getting outside when the weather is nice also includes giving me access to more space than I would ever want or be able to own myself. There is no reasonable way I can expect to own a private nature preserve in my life, however, I very much enjoy the opportunity to partake in their existence and the unique settings they create in the areas I live. I can utilize the access to natural surroundings without possessing them.

     Some outdoors ideas include:

  • Archery
  • Bicycling
  • Birdwatching
  • Camping
  • Flower picking / identifying
  • Hiking / Walks
  • Make a sand castle
  • Nature-based scavenger hunts
  • Picnics
  • Plant a garden
  • Sitting under a tree with a good book
  • Stargazing
  • Swimming
  • Time at a playground
  • Tree climbing
  • Walking your pet(s)
  • Water balloon fight
Leave a Reply

